10 replies to this topic

#1 OddlyCreative

OddlyCreative

Advanced Member

• PipPipPip
  • 69 posts

Posted 27 December 2021 - 02:47 AM

Hello all,

I am planning on building a to-scale replica of King da Ka out of classic SSC K'nex pieces. The coaster will be around 17-21 feet tall and the launch section 25-30 feet long (I am still working out the scale factor). I want to have an automated launch, and I am looking for suggestions on what to do. The coaster will be outside.

I have no almost no experience with Arduino, but I suspect I will need to use one. Also, I will likely need to use non-K'nex power such as a drill or servo motor.

In order to help save pieces, I have developed a 3D printed adapter to connect K'nex pieces to tripod screws, which allows for affordable supports (6-foot used tripods are only a dollar at my local flea market).

Questions for you all:

Will rubber bands / surgical tubing be strong enough to launch the coaster? Also, will K'nex pieces be able to handle the force over such long lengths (30 ft)?

If I employ a flywheel-style launch, how will I be able to reset + properly maintain tension on the catch car?

What is the best way to create the path for the catch car to travel on? I have seen it done a couple different ways.

Please mention any other relevant information or tips.

Many thanks,
OddlyCreative

#2 CrayCray for coasters

CrayCray for coasters

Construction Foreman

• 292 posts

Posted 28 December 2021 - 05:33 PM

Now this is where i can help, still prototyping the high power launch for now but i shall post in this topic with updates when there are any

hello there.   I'm CrayCray for Coasters and i truly am

YT: https://www.youtube....TtN7habMCySGc0A

#3 Alabastine

Alabastine

Advanced Member

• PipPipPip
  • 37 posts

Posted 05 January 2022 - 12:11 PM