General Electronics Forum - Questions etc.

amusement park coaster connecticut jonnycoaster quassy

• Please log in to reply
132 replies to this topic

#1 Maxlaam

Maxlaam

Tracing Tyrant's Steps

• 8116 posts

Posted 28 December 2010 - 08:21 AM

Since people saw Looping Star with Phase integrated and the lights I've been getting quite a few PMs and visitor messages. I think I can say that you guys have literally been spamming me with questions about electronics the past couple of months.
However I'm not going to keep saying the same stuff to everyone over and over again, that's why I opened up this thread, if you have a question you can ask me or other members. Note, I am not an expert at this so bear in mind that I can not always answer your questions.

I would also like to add that I will not release any details from Project Phase.

Before you start building I want you to ask yourself this: Is it worth it to start using lights on this project? Electronics are cheap by themselves but a full grown project can cost you tens if not hundreds of dollars.

Wiring up electronics:

Rules for determining Voltage, Ampère and Resistor

Ohms Law:
R = U/I

Series:
Vtotal = V1 + V2 + V3 + ...
Itotal = I1 = I2 = I3 = ...

Example on how to determine the Voltage used and the Resistor Required.
LED at 2.1V and 20mA
Posted Image

12-(5*2.1) = 1.5V

Use Ohms Law:
R = 2.5/0.02
R = 75 Ohms
Best available resistor: 82 Ohms

Parallel:
Vtotal = V1 = V2 = V3 = ...
Itotal = I1 + I2 + I3 + ...

Example Determining Voltage, Current and resistor in Parallel+Series Circuit:
LED at 2.1V and 20mA
Using the info from the previous example, resistors are at 82 Ohms.
Posted Image

Determine the current needed from the power Supply:
3 series in parallel at 20mA per series = 3*20mA = 60mA

Posted Image

Always look up the data sheet for the LED you buy to get the exact values.