cobra vv looper b&m micro

• Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 coastergeekrtc

coastergeekrtc

A God Among Users

• 2653 posts

Posted 16 July 2008 - 11:05 AM

So I have been working on a project for some time now with very little progress but I've never posted it here. This is what I have from the CoasterDynamix site,

So I've been planning a new lift to work with the Hydra train I bought a month ago. As many might have noticed the train drags along the lift track and is very difficult to get working with the current system. I know the CDStaff is making a new lift for the next coaster kit but I wanted to design my own lift just for the fun of it. Hey, I am an engineering student you know!

I plan on making a fully functional chain lift system using the current motor and some miniature Delrin chain. The chain will extend up and over the top of the lift so that there are no problems with the train not making it over the top. On a side note, I also have ideas for mechanical brakes, station, transfer track, and a control system...all to be integrated in a simple model for testing purposes.

Now I don't have any physical progress. I did build a temporary lift about 3 ft tall but it's going to be demolished for my new design. And I spliced two ties together to make a test tie for my brakes but it broke. I may mold my own ties for the brakes. I am currently entering parts in the computer so the actual design isn't finished. But I thought I would post some pics of the progress.

Posted Image

The flexible track with the main chassis of the floorless train and the running wheels. Also, the chain runs along the top of the ties.

Posted Image

This is the back profile of the track and train. As you can see there is a lot of clearance between the chain and train. Unfortunately the hook on the bottom is too wide to fit in the chain and a new hook will be designed.

Posted Image