coaster season starts

• Please log in to reply
185 replies to this topic

#1 ForgotToGrowUp

ForgotToGrowUp

Lead Engineer

• 1732 posts

Posted 04 January 2011 - 07:13 PM

I am going to build a small woodie for the winter contest. The crosstie limit really rules out anything big and spacing them far apart would be harder with twisty elements. This is going to be a based on a real coaster but due to the space constraints I won't go so far as a real recreation. Let's see who first identifies the real coaster (should be easy)

I've never built anything this small before! The best part of it being so small is I can build it on a table! Yay! less trips to the chiropractor from building Knex!. Also, small coaster should be easier to finish on time!

This is all for now. Nothing to critique as I am still in the early planning stages, just getting the rough shape built for now.

Posted Image

Comet Recreation still underway.

Proof you never grow up if you keep playing with toys!

#2 Blackkitty

Blackkitty

Meow!

• 1705 posts

Posted 04 January 2011 - 07:16 PM

Intresting lift.... Gonna watch this!

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

#3 TheSUCKCrew

TheSUCKCrew

Way too old

• 4095 posts

Posted 04 January 2011 - 07:23 PM

Isn't this comet?
Looks good so far, looks like I'll have some concurrention...;)
I'm planning on a woodie too, not like this one though.

Are you sure you want to go for that orange liftspine? it will look kinda weird I think.

#4 ForgotToGrowUp

ForgotToGrowUp

Lead Engineer

• 1732 posts

Posted 04 January 2011 - 08:03 PM

Nope not any of the Comets. I grew up riding the Lincoln Park Comet and want to do a recreation of that at some point, but there is no way it would fit the constraints of this contest.

Not sure about the orange lift. My thought was to make all the track work bright, using yellow cross ties & flexis, red tubing and trim it out with bright pieces for railing etc. I don't have enough brights to build the structure out of though.