electronics lsm

• Please log in to reply
105 replies to this topic

#1 ThisIsGabe

ThisIsGabe

Electrical Engineer

• 177 posts

Posted 04 February 2014 - 11:26 AM

So, I've been messing around with K'nex for almost 10 years now, and I've always wanted a good launch system. Rubber bands are fun, but I want something a tad more realistic. I've also seen two (probably more) attempts at an LSM launch start and die out on this site already, so I figured I'd give it a shot. Why? Well, last summer I worked on a LSM roller coaster (and got to get an up close look at its systems while it was down), and I'm currently in college for my electrical engineering degree. This is not going to be a project that is finished in a month or two, however I hope to have it done by the end of 2014. I'll post major updates as they come.

So. How about those LSMs, eh?
They're an interesting method of generating motion from electricity. The basic concept is placing an electromagnet near two magnets, turning on the electromagnet, and having the magnets move towards the magnet. Repeat the process with more electromagnets, and eventually, your magnets are going really fast. Attach a roller coaster car to the magnets, and you have a ride like Maverick.

Previous Attempts

Now, this is where previous SSCoaster launches differ from reality. Because the web is constantly changing, it's hard to find photos of the first K'nex LSM launch, but the photos that I have found show a single magnet anchored to the bottom of the K'nex train, and moving over flat stators in the track. The stators are single phase, and controlled by reed switches and relays, then a computer and relays.